skip to main content

Copiague Middle School Welcomes 26 Members to NJHS

Student being inducted into the NJHS thumbnail206324

Copiague Middle School inducted 26 eighth grade members into its chapter of the National Junior Honor Society on Oct. 14. Advisers Paul Harvey and Francesca Walker welcomed the board of education members, administrators, family and community members to the ceremony.

In order to qualify for membership, students must possess a cumulative grade point average of 92 or above and receive faculty recommendations. The National Junior Honor Society inductees spoke about the qualities of scholarship, character, service and leadership that members must demonstrate to qualify.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon acknowledged the accomplishments of the inductees. “This is a tremendous accomplishment to be inducted in what hasn’t been an easy time,” she said. “You are all setting yourself up for a positive future and I look forward to seeing your accomplishments.”

Copiague Middle School Principal Andrew Lagnado then called out all the new members, who each spoke about how they intend to give back to their community.

Congratulations to the following inductees: Ashani Barnes; Amelia Bright; Keliyah Browne; Jocelyn Carranza Orellana; Audrey Curto; Violet Feal; Laila Francis; Christian Franklin; Raisaun Gibson; Gabriella Gonzalez; Ronan Higgins; Jordan Jimenez; Jaida Jordan; Emilee Lall; Mason Koziarz; Kaia Mabli; Bielka Perez; Juleyni Ramos Estevez; Jazlene Rodriguez; Anisa Sattaur; Olivia Tyszko; Ayden Verdesoto; Evan Verdesoto; Rosina Wickham; Catherine Yanase and Daniel Zheng.

After reciting the National Junior Honor Society pledge and becoming official members, the students presented a rose to a member of their family in attendance to thank them for their support.