skip to main content

Celebrating Success at National Honor Society Induction

honor society induction thumbnail256893

Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School celebrated the outstanding academic achievements of its student body at the National Honor Society induction ceremony held in the school’s auditorium on March 26. Surrounded by family, friends, district administrators and board of education members, 39 students were inducted in the Isabella M. Driscoll Chapter of the National Honor Society.

Following a welcome by club advisers Clare Nugent and Marie Accetella, the club’s officers spoke about the organization’s four pillars of scholarship, leadership, service and character. Each officer lit a candle to symbolize the pillars.

Each student was called to the stage one by one to be honored and receive their candle and certificate from an existing member of the National Honor Society. Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Principal Joseph Agosta spoke about the hard work and dedication of the students who were being recognized that evening. “Tonight we celebrate the outstanding achievements of our students who exemplify the core principles of the organization,” he said. “Each of you had demonstrated unwavering commitment to academic excellence, showing that dedication and hard work are the keys to success. Your thirst for knowledge, coupled with your perseverance, had set you apart as scholars of the highlight caliber.”

Mr. Agosta then recited the National Honor Society oath for the new inductees to repeat, as they became official members of the organization. Congratulations to the following students: 12th grade: Jordyn Bell, Brian Gonzalez, La-von Green, Anahis Rodriguez and Kemmora Simmons; 11th grade: Mohammad Ali, Chloe Allen-Jackson, Yenifer Araujo Pena, Adriana Asturias Pacheco, Kaydee Bonilla, Tye Burrus, Cesar Fermin Jr., Lilian Gonzalez Amaya, Vaiva Kean, Alexis Lugay, Nicole Martinez Espinal, Maya Rybka, Michael Santos, Joy Scrivano, Maya Tyszko, Jonathan Valle, Davy Velasquez, Patricia Zepeda and Ethan Zheng; 10th grade: Hannah Alara, Damaris Bonilla, Amelia Bright, Heily Fernandez, Christian Franklin, Ronan Higgins, Mason Koziarz, Krzysztof Krasnowski, Kaia Malbi, Aneisa Nicholas, Rosa Solorzano, Sarah Theranus, Olivia Tyszko, Rosina Wickham and Carlos Zelayandia-Reyes.

Click here to view the photo slideshow.

Date Added: 4/12/2024