skip to main content

Copiague Inducts 31 Members into National Honor Society

National Honor Society members standing on a stage and being inducted into the membership thumbnail244658
Thirty-one new members from Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School were inducted into the Isabella M. Driscoll Chapter of the National Honor Society during a ceremony held in the school’s auditorium on March 29. They were joined by administrators, board of education members, family members and friends to celebrate the occasion.

Guests were welcomed to the ceremony by National Honor Society co-advisers Clare Nugent and Maria Stamatelatos. To be inducted into the National Honor Society, students must exhibit the society’s four pillars: scholarship, leadership, service and character. The four National Honor Society officers –Alice Sztabinski, Victoria Wheby, Emily Newman and Anthony Woods – spoke about each of the pillars and their importance.

The district congratulates the following students: 10th graders: Wildania Baez Polanco, Rhianna Coleman, Marlyn Cruz, Anthony Diaz, Anamaria Espinoza, Dwight Evans Jr., Samantha Fuentes, Adonai Adam Gugliemelli, Zoe Henderson, Sara Mierzejewski, Valery Ortiz, Linda Paiz, Glorianni Pena Feliz, Salvatore Pepe, Abigail Rodriguez, Lennon Sabel, Lucy Sztabinski, Alyson Tenebro and Claudia Valladares; 11th graders: Rebecca Alara, Claire Alexandre-Quinones, Alana Cambridge, Zachary Korba, Emily Meyer, Mercedes Novell-Gillard, Jonathan Singh, Jorge Villatoro-Amaya and Jose Villatoro-Amaya; 12th graders: Yulian Amador, Anthony Meneses and Joanna Rivera.

“Congratulations to our new inductees; you have made your families and your school very proud,” said Walter G. O’ Connell Copiague High School Principal Joseph Agosta. “Your achievement in the realms of scholarship, leadership, community service and character are being honored here tonight by being inducted into a very prestigious society. An honor such as this is a wonderful way for the school and community to recognize and celebrate the choices, and sometimes the sacrifices, you have made. You are all leaders – whether you are leaders because of your academic achievement, leaders in sports or in clubs – you represent the part of our school of which we are most proud. As members of the National Honor Society, I challenge you to not just rest on your laurels, but to continue to strive toward even loftier goals.”

After all the new members were called, Mr. Agosta recited the Honor Society oath for all the members to repeat to signify their official induction into the National Honor Society.

Click here to view the slideshow.

Date Added: 4/14/2023