skip to main content
Covid-19 Information

Copiague’s Top 20 of 2023

Top 20 students standing together in a large room and smiling thumbnail240730
Copiague School District celebrated the accomplishments of its top 20 students in the Class of 2023 with a luncheon on Jan. 27. Board of education trustees, central administration, invited faculty and family members joined the students for their special event.

Each top 20 student invited one special faculty member from the district who had a positive influence on them. Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Principal Joseph Agosta welcomed guests and thanked family members and faculty for their support of these exceptional students.

“It takes a village to educate a child,” Agosta said. “Because of the support of the Copiague Public Schools’ Board of Education and central office administration, our students have been given the necessary tools needed to be successful in the 21st century.”

Agosta then offered a brief biography of each student, noting their accomplishments, awards and future goals and endeavors for college and their career. Each student was called to the podium to express their gratitude to the person who inspired them.

“To make a difference in the world, you have to be great people,” Agosta added. “Not just great a what you do but great in who you are. As you move on from high school to college, I encourage you to challenge yourself to become a great person. Always surround yourself with people who make you want to be a better person and bring out the best in you.”

The district congratulates the top 20 students (in order beginning with No. 20): Madison Sims, Arleni Alvarez Almonte, Sean Moore, Martin Rybka, William Yanes, Jaden Gomez, Alyssa Mancuso, Mina Senturk, Krystal Maharaj, Kayla Osorio, Marcel Mazurek, Genesis Canenguez Mejia, Alice Sztabinski, Yaselin Pichardo, Nayshawn Ferebee, Antanina Petroglia, Richard Reyes, Venessa Seguino, Edison Peguero Rosario (salutatorian) and Jack Langan (valedictorian).

The teacher/staff honorees included: Joseph Agosta, Peter Angel, Brianna Arthur, Christina Cutolo, Kerri Hall, Flor Hernandez, Jessica Jablonski, Thomas Korn, Scott Kuhn, Renee Locker, Matthew Miles, Timothy Montera, Michelle Penyy, Stephen Rebholz, Gabrielle Romanelli, Kimberly Ruggiero, Darwin Ryan, Dr. Kaitlyn Thompson, Dr. Allison Weller and Brittany Tillinghast.

Click here to view the slideshow.

Date Added: 2/3/2023