Copiague Science Researchers Take Top Awards at Covanta

A group of students thumbnail246686
Nine students from the Copiague School District were recognized by the Town of Babylon for placing among the top students who entered the Babylon Covantage EcoTech Scholarship Contest during an awards presentation at Babylon Town Hall on May 6. Four students from Copiague Middle School and five students from Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School took home nine of the top 10 awards.

Under the advisement of Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School science chairperson Renee Locker and Copiague Middle School science chairperson Dr. Daniel Leccese, students submitted an energy or environmental-based science project, through which they carried out an experiment and wrote a detailed scientific paper explaining their procedure and conclusion.

Congratulations to the following students: Andrew Falco (first place); Yoervin Espinal Francisco (third place); Irie Waterbury (fourth place); Kasper Sztabinski (fifth place); Bielka Perez (sixth place); Rosangel Peralta (EcoTech Scholarship); Mohamad Altenbakji (EcoTech Scholarship); Christie Arce (honorable mention) and Stephanie Rekas (honorable mention).

Open to students in grades eighth to 12 throughout the Town of Babylon, the Covantage EcoTech Scholarship Contest awards scholarships annually to students who create the top-ranking science projects with eco-tech themes. Through this program, students are encouraged to explore concepts related to sustainability and environmental solutions.

Date Added: 5/31/2023