skip to main content
Covid-19 Information

30 New Members Inducted Into National Honor Society

MAIN_PHOTO(92).jpg thumbnail64206
IMG_8167.jpg thumbnail64207
IMG_8188.jpg thumbnail64208
Photo2(7).jpg thumbnail64209
IMG_8217.jpg thumbnail64210
Thirty students from Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School were inducted into the Isabella M. Driscoll Chapter of the National Honor Society during a candlelighting ceremony.

NHS advisers Clare Nugent and Allison Weller began the ceremony by explaining the significance of the society as well as the high level of achievement the students demonstrated to be inducted. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon took to the podium to afford words of welcome as well as to congratulate the new inductees and their families on this exceptional honor.

“Becoming a member of the honor society is a privilege,” said Dr. Bannon. “By virtue of your outstanding academic performance you are becoming part of an elite group. It is our hope that you take your membership into the honor society seriously and that in the coming years you use your talents and gifts in ways that benefit both you and our community. Congratulations to all of the inductees.”

Officers Adrian Chochorek (president), Karla Lopez (vice president), Mikayla Angel (secretary) and Victoria Kammer (treasurer) spoke about the characteristics that best describe a National Honor Society member, which includes leadership, service, character and scholarship. Attendees then heard from high school mathematics teacher Scott Kuhn who was the guest speaker for the evening.

Following the calling of new members by Weller and Nugent, Principal Joseph Agosta led the group in reciting the NHS oath and provided closing remarks to conclude the ceremony.