skip to main content
Covid-19 Information

A Display of Artistic Accomplishments

080316_main.jpg thumbnail64475

For the past two decades, the District has honored the artistic talents of its students by selecting art pieces to hang on the walls throughout the school buildings and central administration offices as part of the Superintendent’s Art Gallery.

Each year, the students are recognized during a special ceremony held prior to the June board of education meeting. To have their artwork chosen for the gallery, students are nominated by their art teachers and art pieces are hand chosen by Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon.

For this year’s Superintendent’s Art Gallery ceremony held on June 20, 28 pieces of artwork from students in the elementary through the high school levels were inducted into the gallery. Each work of art showcased was professionally framed and branded with a brass plate, identifying the student-artist’s name, grade level and year the piece was completed. As their name was read aloud by Coordinator of Fine Arts Jennifer Pierre-Louis, students stood up to be recognized. The young artists each received a framed certificate of achievement acknowledging their outstanding artistic accomplishments.

Also honored at the ceremony were Gim Elger Gousse, Jennifer Nunez and Keith Squires Jr., whose art pieces were chosen as the Crowd Favorite of the Fine Arts Festival, which was held during the district’s annual budget vote and board trustee election. Each honored artist was awarded a $100 check from the Copiague Teachers Association.

Congratulations to the following artists for their induction into the Superintendent’s Art Gallery: Deauville Gardens East Elementary School: Ebi Guardado; Deauville Gardens West Elementary School: Estefany Cabrera; Great Neck Road Elementary School: Dyson Brown, Iliana Ramirez and Maliyah Waring; Susan E. Wiley Elementary School: Veronica Karwowska, Ashley Matute, Jayden Olivo and Lakira Reid; Copiague Middle School: Adam Antosiak, Esdras Canales, Gim Elger Gousse, Ariana Patron Martinez, Tyree Sukram, Arianna Tirino, Kyle Tobias and Natalie Unger; Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School: Isis Caceres Santos, Destinee De Luca, Victoria Ferguson, Victoria Grinthal, Chloe Mingo, Katherine Morales, Elizabeth Pitre, Yorlenny Rodriguez, Yafreycy Taveras, Alyssa Torres and Rebecca Yackel.