skip to main content
Covid-19 Information

Copiague Middle School Welcomes Newest Members of NJHS

Students taking a pledge thumbnail228792

On the evening of Oct. 18, Copiague Middle School inducted 32 eighth grade members into its chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. Advisers Paul Harvey and Francesca Walker welcomed the board of education members, administrators, family and community members to the ceremony.

To qualify for membership, students must possess a cumulative grade point average of 92 or above and receive faculty recommendations. The National Junior Honor Society inductees spoke about the qualities of scholarship, character, service and leadership that members must demonstrate to qualify.

Guest speaker Theresa Soriare, a member of the National Honor Society at Walter G. O’Connell High School, imparted her words of encouragement to the middle school students. Copiague Middle School Principal Andrew Lagnado acknowledged the students for their many accomplishments both in the classroom and in the community.

Congratulations to the following inductees: Victoria Abayev; Katelyn Agtuca; Diane Almanzar; Mariany Alvardo; Christie Arce; Bella Bartoli; Gianna Bowman; Alexis Brennan; Moises Casco-Lopez; Skya Cham; Sebastian Chavez Minaya; Eliana Espinal; Katie Gonzalez; Alexandra Kaleka; Veronica Karwowska; Tiffany Lopez Lopez; Kevin Mackey; Julie Mauro; Ryan McCue; Laila Mederos; Xiomara Mejia; Dariana Nunez Urena; Tiffany Ortiz; Achlandie Pennont; Daynara Perez Gonzalez; Hayley Piccoli; Julisa Rodriguez; Alana Sattaur; Carissa Spencer; Kasper Sztabinski; Maya Thompson; and Alyson Vargas.

After reciting the National Junior Honor Society pledge and becoming official members, the students presented a rose to a member of their family in attendance to thank them for their support.

Date Added: 10/28/2022