skip to main content
Covid-19 Information

Copiague Recognizes Class of 2022’s Top 20

People standing behind a Top 20 sign and smiling at the camera thumbnail217455

Copiague School District celebrated the accomplishments of its top 20 high school students in the Class of 2022 with a luncheon on May 14. Board of education trustees, central administration, invited faculty and family members joined the students for their special event. The event was punctuated with music played by the Tri-M Music Honor Society musicians.

Each top 20 student invited one special teacher from the district who had a positive influence on them. Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Principal Joseph Agosta welcomed guests and thanked family members and faculty for their support of these exceptional students.

“What matters foremost in life is that you be someone special; not just do something special,“ Mr. Agosta told the top 20 students. “To make a difference in the world, we have to be great people; not just great in what we do but great in who we are. As you move from high school to college to continue your education, I encourage you to challenge yourself to become a great person.”

Mr. Agosta then offered a brief biography of each student, noting their accomplishments, awards and future goals and endeavors for college and their career. Each student was called to the podium to express their gratitude to the teacher who inspired them during their time in the Copiague School District.

The district congratulates the top 20 students (in order beginning with No. 20): Jaheim Garcia, Gabriel Salgado-Mejia, Katelyn Gonzalez, Tania Bonilla, Donte Hinton, Jean Marcos Taveras, Luis Rodriguez, Myra Mendoza-Rodriguez, Tyler Palmer, Klara Thelusma, Roman Burrus, Deep Shah, Asiatul Hoque, Adriana Jimenez Bonilla, Cathrine Sakin, Jillian McLaurin, Stephanie Cortes, Sahil Parikh, Devonie Rhoden (salutatorian) and Joseph Falco Jr. (valedictorian).

The teacher honorees included: Rosa Benaburger, Eric Dobmeier, Cheryl Feldman, Kerri Hall, Flor Hernandez, Jessica Jablonski, Thomas Korn, Scott Kuhn, Dr. Daniel Lecesse, Renee Locker, Michelle Penyy, Kimberly Ruggiero, George Schroeder, Karen Swenson, Stephen Temme, Dr. Kaitlyn Thompson, Allison Weller, Tracy Wenzler and John Young.

Date Added: 5/25/2022