skip to main content
Covid-19 Information

Fine Arts Honor Societies Inducts 38 New Members

TRI M students holding their certificates thumbnail217160
seven students hold their inductions into Tri-M Music Honor Society or National Art Honor Society thumbnail217161
For their strong commitment to the arts, 38 students from Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School were inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society or National Art Honor Society. Joined by family, friends, administrators and board of education members, the students pledged their commitment during an induction ceremony held in the school’s cafeteria on May 4.

Coordinator of Fine Arts Jennifer Ross-Troise welcomed guests to the ceremony and spoke about the talented musicians and artists who were honored into the respective societies and their dedication to both their school and community.

During the ceremony, honor society advisers shared examples of the high level of talent and community service contributions of their society members. Each society’s executive board members explained the criteria a student must exhibit to be inducted into the society. In unison, they were led in reciting the pledge of the Tri-M Music and National Art honor societies.

Honorary lifetime membership for the Tri-M Honor Society was given to Copiague Middle School music teacher Barbara Mayo, inducted based on student nominations. For the National Art Honor Society, Copiague Middle School art teacher Travis White received lifetime membership. In the cafeteria, an art show displayed the skill and talent of the many artists in the National Art Honor Society for all guests to enjoy.

The district congratulates the following students who were inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society: Nicole Araujo, Kamar Birthwright, Stacy Bramble, Kayla Brown, Abner Carbajal, Valery Cedeno, Brian Chacon, Erica Charles, Milie Cisneros, Rhianna Coleman, Simeon Cooper, Jazline Diaz, Richard Fagan, Chris Garcia-Martinez, Alexa Gourdette, La-Von Green, Penelope Greenfield, Tierre Jones, Vaiva Keen, Daniel Kister, Mariska Kroog, Adam Lacz, Mykelle Moore, Janee Nicholson, Mercedes Novell-Gillard, Linda Paiz, Abigail Rodriguez, Allyson Shaw, Alyson Tenebro and Ethan Zheng.

The district congratulates the following students who were inducted into the National Art Honor Society: Hadasa Argueta Botzoc, Merary Duran, Francheska Guzman, Shannon Higgins, Amber Ramirez, Alice Sztabinski, Mariely Vinas Marte and Sofia Weiss.

Date Added: 5/18/2022