Celebrating the Success of Student-Athletes

Celebrating the Success of Student-Athletes thumbnail120199

The Copiague School District celebrated the accomplishments of its student-athletes both on and off the playing field during the 19th annual spring sports awards dinner sponsored by the Copiague Booster Club.

Coaches, administrators, board of education members, friends and family gathered to share the notable accomplishments of the sports teams in varsity softball, boys lacrosse, girls track, girls lacrosse, baseball and boys track.

Coaches called athletes up front to be recognized and celebrated both their individual and team achievements during the season. They also distributed individual awards, including the Coaches’ Award, Most Improved and the MVP award, to worthy recipients. 

Six Golden Eagle Awards were presented to students from each team with the highest cumulative grade point average. This year’s receipients were: Kiara Bennett (girls track); Christopher Caneguez (boys track); Victor Gamarra (boys lacrosse); Henry Molina (baseball); Kriyal Patel (girls lacrosse); and Carol Rodriguez Rodriguez (softball). 

Three special memorial awards were presented to student-athletes for boys lacrosse and baseball. The Jared J. Pennington Memorial Lacrosse Award was given to Tquan Wint, D. Johnson Moline was the recipient of the Sean Ryan Noonan Memorial Lacrosse Award, and Justin Taveras received the Daniel O’Connell Memorial Baseball Award.

Fifteen student-athletes were named Gold Key winners. The Gold Key Award is the highest honor in the section that an athlete can receive for sports participation. It is awarded to student-athletes who letter in eight junior varsity or varsity seasons in grades 10-12. Copiague School District Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon presented each winner with a special pin. Winners were: Jackson Bright, Christopher Carbajal Vargas, Ajhani Carroll, Luis Castillo, Nia Cooper, Robert Elias, Emmanuel Espinal, Aryes Garrett, Melinda Harris, James Holland, John Jerrick, Faith McCombs, Kriyal Patel, Melissa Perdomo and Eric Tavarez.