Copiague Welcomes Newest Inductees into National Honor Society

Copiague Welcomes Newest Inductees into National Honor Society photo thumbnail114608

Thirty-six new members from Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School were inducted into the Isabella M. Driscoll Chapter of the National Honor Society during a ceremony in the school’s auditorium on March 26. Administrators, board of education members, family and friends were on hand to witness the induction ceremony.

To be inducted into the National Honor Society, students must exhibit the society’s four pillars: scholarship, leadership, service and character. The four National Honor Society officers – Marvin Pineda Lobo, Faith McCombs, Melinda Mercedes and Abigail Romero – spoke about each of the pillars and their importance.

National Junior Honor Society members chose the evening’s guest speaker, Matthew Miles, high school English teacher. “For me, Copiague is more than a school district; this has become my second home,” he said. “I have watched all of you mature from insecure ninth-graders to confident young men and women who are ready to take on the world. The certificate you are about to receive is just a symbol. This certificate symbolizes the four requirements for membership into the National Honor Society in which you have excelled.”

Miles spoke about the four pillars and their meaning. “Scholarship is more than straight As and more than the requirement to get into the National Honor Society,” he said. “It is the desire that each of you have to learn more. Leadership is not about being appointed to office. Leadership is an attitude; leaders see progress, not power. Community service gives us a chance to practice altruism and give back to the community that has given us so much. And the true definition of character is what you do when no one is looking.”

After each of the newest inductees was called to the stage for recognition, Principal Joseph Agosta led them in the National Honor Society Oath. 
The district congratulates the following students: 

Grade 11: Esdras Canales, Vincent Cipriani, Luisiana Colon Sanchez, Destiny Delacruz, Darlene Ferreira, Erhumwunse Eghafona, Carolina Gonzalez, Nolan Johnson, Jaime Kister, Michelle Kumah, Arianna Lipari, Naryman Lounici, Amy Moskowitz, Patrice Noel, Carol Rodriguez, Gianna Torres, Brithney Urena Hiciano and Tamara Washington.

Grade 10: Jada Angel, Ryan Bott, Sophia Bright, Anna Carvajal, Eitan Chervony, Brayan Espinal, Jayleen Garcia, Elizabeth Garrovillas, Samantha Gonzalez, Jasmine Jimenez, Sofia Lounici, Yessica Ortiz Max, Zuri Milliner, Edinelly Peguero Rosario, Morgan Weeks, Aniyah Woods, Genesis Yanes and Oktay Yildiz.