Honoring Spring Student-Athletes

Honoring Spring Student-Athletes photo thumbnail96631

To honor the accomplishments of its student-athletes both on and off the field, Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School held its 18th annual Spring Sports Awards in the school’s cafeteria on May 22. Sponsored by the Copiague Booster Club, the event brought together invited guests, coaches, administrators and board of education members to celebrate the accolades of its athletes in varsity softball, boys lacrosse, girls track, girls lacrosse, baseball and boys track.

Coaches called athletes up front to be recognized and celebrated both their individual and team achievements during the season. They also distributed individual awards, including the Coaches’ Award, Most Improved and the MVP award, to worthy receipients. 

Six Golden Eagle Awards were presented to students from each team with the highest cumulative grade point average. This year’s receipients were: Nicole Hernandez (girls track); Christopher Canenguez (boys track); Victor Gamarra (boys lacrosse); Justin Taveras (baseball); Kriyal Patel (girls lacrosse); and Samantha Sanchez (softball). 

Three special memorial awards were presented to student-athletes for boys lacrosse and baseball. The Jared J. Pennington Memorial Lacrosse Award was given to Keenon White, Jonathan Angel was the recipient of the Sean Ryan Noonan Memorial Lacrosse Award, and Matthew Collins received the Daniel O’Connell Memorial Baseball Award.

Seven student-athletes were named Gold Key winners. The Gold Key Award is the highest honor in the section that an athlete can receive for sports participation. It is awarded to student-athletes who letter in eight junior varsity or varsity seasons in grades 10-12. Copiague School District Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon presented each winner with a special pin. Winners were: Akajia Atkins (soccer, winter track, spring track); Joseph Gomez (football, winter track, spring track); Ashley Jean-Raymond (cross-country, winter track, spring track); Antoine Moore (cross-country, basketball, winter track, spring track); Kyria Moore (volleyball, winter track, spring track); Wilmer Reyes (soccer, football, wrestling, spring track); and Telisa Washington (soccer, winter track, spring track).