More than 30 Copiague students inducted into National Honor Society

More than 30 Copiague students inducted into  National Honor Society photo

Thirty-three new members from Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School were inducted into the Isabella Driscoll Chapter of the National Honor Society during a ceremony held in the school’s auditorium on March 28. Administrators, board of education members, family and friends were on hand to witness the induction ceremony.

In order to be inducted into the National Junior Honor Society, students must exhibit the society’s four pillars ¬– scholarship, leaderships, service and character. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon addressed audience and spoke about the newest National Honor Society inductees. “You have distinguished yourself in the classroom and beyond and you should be very proud of the work you have done,” she said. “But more impressive is what you do outside of the classroom that has added to our school community.”

National Junior Honor Society members chose the evening’s guest speaker, Minett Hall, Advanced Placement biology teacher. “It is your hard work, combined with many other admirable traits, that has gotten you here,” she said. “It was a very rigorous selection process and those standing here today for induction represent the best of the best. I wish you every bit of success for your reminder of time in high school and beyond. Remember that good grades will only take you far, but what will take you even further is good character. Harness all of your abilities for the better and be the most positive influence you can.”

After each of the newest inductees was called to the stage for recognition, Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Principal Joseph Agosta led them in the National Honor Society Oath. 

The district congratulates the following students:
12th grade: Michelle Cox, Kayla Dixon, Jennifer Lopez-Fernandez, Wiktoria Portka and Gabrielle Swenton
11th grade: Alfredo Carillo, Kahlia Claro-Sanchez, Jonathan Conlon, Aaron Eng, Jocelyn Fernandez, Joshna Ilyas, Maybi Mendez, Melinda Mercedez, Yamilex Quiroz Vargas, Darley Senat and Angie Vasquez Sanabria
10th grade: Kiara Bennet, Jonah Breskin, Ladrea Buffaloe, Christopher Canenguez, Gabrielle Diegue, Isabella Galarza, Melanie Garcia, Nicole Hernandez, Jamilia Jackson, Marvin Pineda Lobo, Blanca Reyes, Allison Reyes, Abel Rivera, Donna Rivera, Kenia Rodriguez, Maya Wilson and Kayla Urban.