Key Club Members Honored at Kiwanis Breakfast

Key Club Members Honored at Kiwanis Breakfast Photo

Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School students received accolades and scholarships from the Kiwanis Club of Copiague during their annual breakfast on May 31.

Members of the Key Club were recognized with scholarships presented by Kiwanis Club president elect Phil Guerra. The Anthony Iannotta Scholarship of $1,000 was awarded to Lyndsey Wilson. The Robert McIntosh Scholarship was presented to Jackalyn Gonzalez and Sofie Wilson won the Warren Gumbs Scholarship, both for $500. Additionally, six Key Club members were awarded $250 scholarships each: Ashley Burgos, Jenna Langan, Nicole Mikolajczak, Amorelle Penick, Tiana Roe and Nilsu Yildiz. 

Key Club president Alexandra Saczawa and vice president Joshua Taveras spoke about the many volunteer activities in which the club participated this year. Sophie Bright, president of the Middle School Builders Club, the junior version of the Key Club, also shared some of the various community service activities completed this year. 

The cast of the recent production of “The Little Mermaid” treated the audience to a special performance of some of the favorite hits from the show.