Student-Athletes Honored for Dedication On and Off the Field

Student-Athletes Honored for Dedication On and Off the Field Photo

The Copiague School District honored its spring student-athletes during its annual Sports Awards dinner at the Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School on May 23. District administrators, board of education members, friends and family gathered to honor the athletes in girls track, girls lacrosse, boys track, boys lacrosse, softball and baseball.

As coaches recognized each of the student-athletes for their contributions throughout the season, individual awards were given to most improved players, most valuable players and coach’s award for each team. Three special memorial awards were presented to student-athletes for boys lacrosse and baseball. The Jared J. Pennington Memorial Lacrosse Award was given to Noble Matubber, Tquan Wint was the recipient of the Sean Ryan Noonan Memorial Lacrosse Award and Joshua Lester received the Daniel O’Connell Memorial Baseball Award.

The Section XI Gold Key Award, the highest Section XI honor that an athlete can receive, is awarded to student-athletes who letter in eight junior varsity or varsity seasons in grades 10-12. This year’s recipients were Mikayla Angel (field hockey, winter track, spring track), Cris Castillo (field hockey, winter track, lacrosse), Maya Jones (soccer, winter track, spring track, softball), Amira Kemp (tennis, winter track, spring track), Vincent Ruggiero (soccer, bowling, baseball), Matthew Spadone (soccer, bowling, lacrosse), Sean Walsh (soccer, football, bowling, lacrosse) and Anna Zaborowska (volleyball, basketball, lacrosse).

The Golden Eagle Award is given to the student on each team who had the highest cumulative grade point average for the season. For the spring season, Mikayla Angel (girls track), Kelly Cheung (girls lacrosse), Noble Matubber (boys lacrosse), Peter Milillo (baseball), Christopher Canenguez (boys track) and Sofie Wilson (softball) received the Golden Eagle.