Student-Researchers Shine at Science Symposium

Student-Researchers Shine at Science Symposium Photo

Celebrating the notable accomplishments of the science students at Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School, the district held its third annual 2016-2017 science research symposium on May 18.

District administrators, board of education members, representatives from the Town of Babylon, members of the science department and invited guests gathered to recognize the hard work, determination and perseverance of the students currently enrolled in the independent science research program, the advanced science research program and the introduction to science research program.

“You have all worked a tremendous amount of hours with teachers who have fostered your love of science enough to do this work outside of the classroom,” said Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathleen Bannon. “Congratulations to all of the recognition you have brought to yourselves and your school for your dedication and perseverance.”

Seven Copiague science research students presented a brief overview of their projects, many of which have garnered numerous awards throughout the school year. Projects were on display for a poster presentation walk following the ceremony, giving attendees an opportunity to speak with the students firsthand about their research.

Each student in the program was presented a certificate by science chairperson Renee Locker in recognition of their accomplishments this school year.

The following students were presented with certificates: Jackson Bright, Tatiana Henry, James Holland, Kriyal Patel, Owen Rosenberg, Osazuwa Eghafona, Marianna Espinoza, Brittany Faustin, Jade Dickenson, Claudia Motley, Brayan Pena, Alexandra Saczawa, Joshua Taveras, Sofie Wilson, Shane Abney, Kiara Bennett, Baron Chen, Vincent Cipriani, Erhumwunse Eghafona, Daniel Galeas, Melanie Garcia, Nicole Hernandez, Gregory Jean-Baptiste, Elijah Johnson, Nolan Johnson, Jade Jones, Austin-Sing Loo, Sheza Mirza, Richelle Modestil, Marwin Pineda Lobo, Blanca Reyes, Jeniffer Romero, Josh Simon, Gianna Torres and Tamara Washington.