Recognizing the Top of the Class


Administrators, staff and members of the Board of Education honored the top 20 students in Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School’s Class of 2017 with a luncheon celebration on Jan. 27.

Before calling individual students up to the podium to be recognized for their academic, athletic and community involvement, Principal Joseph Agosta acknowledged the hard work and dedication of the students and their parents and the teachers. “This is a proud moment for both you and your families,” Agosta said. “The countless hours you have put in supporting your child is the reason they are standing here today.”

To the students, Agosta continued, “Challenge yourself to become great. Surround yourself with those who bring out the best in you. Remember the values, guidance and encouragement the staff and teachers here have taught you. Continue to be a positive force in the community.”

Each of the top 20 students had an opportunity to recognize and thank a teacher who was influential in their time at Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School.

The district congratulates the top 20 students of the Class of 2017 (in rank order): Tomasz Solecki (valedictorian); Mikayla Angel (salutatorian); Sophia Hall; Sofie Wilson; Cristian Dilone; Kimberly Cheung; Jonathan Gudel; Jenna Langan; Ashley Hudson; Brayan Pena; Cameren Jackson; Gregory Morgan; Chanyia Welch; Jade Dickenson; Neal Shah; David Hararah; Claudia Motley; Lyndsey Wilson; Juan Gubisch; and Jason Hernandez.