Educators Honored by Legislator DuWayne Gregory

Last month, four Copiague educators were honored at the Teacher Appreciation Awards Night hosted by Suffolk County Legislature Presiding Officer DuWayne Gregory. To be selected for the Outstanding Teacher Recognition Program for the 15th Legislative District, educators are nominated by administrators, faculty and/or staff members.

Nominated by their respective building principal, Susan E. Wiley Elementary School kindergarten teacher Jean Anziano, Deauville Gardens East Elementary School guidance counselor Lysa Mullady, Deauville Gardens West Elementary School fifth-grade teacher Stephanie Nosworthy and Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School social studies teacher Yoleidys Swerdloff were among the evening’s award recipients for their commitment in making a positive impact on the teaching profession, students and public education. These educators were recognized for their effort to “go the second mile” by working above and beyond what is required, collaborating with colleagues to improve student achievement, for being an inspiration to his or her peers and encouraging students’ lifelong learning.

Each award honoree was presented with a Proclamation Certificate presented by Legislator Gregory during a special ceremony held at North Babylon High School. The district extends its congratulations to the teachers on this wonderful recognition.