Recognizing Top 20 Students in 2020

Recognizing Top 20 Students in 2020  thumbnail162157

Copiague School District recognized and celebrated the accomplishments of its top 20 students in the Class of 2020 with a luncheon on Jan. 24 in the school’s cafeteria. Board of Education members, central administrators, invited faculty members and the students’ family members joined the top 20 students for the event.
Each top 20 student had the opportunity to invite one special teacher from the district who had a positive influence on them. Walter G. O’Connell Copiague High School Principal Joseph Agosta welcomed guests and thanked the family members for their support of the top 20 students. “I have a little advice for you as you move forward from here,” he said. “What matters foremost in life is that you be someone special; not sure do something special. To make a difference in the world, you have to be not only a great person but great in what you do and great in who you are. As you move from high school to college and continue your education, I encourage you to challenge yourself to become a great person. Get involved in all that life has to offer. Never be afraid to try something new. Always surround yourself with people who make you want to be a better person and bring out the best in you.”
Mr. Agosta then offered a brief biography of each student, noting their accomplishments, awards and future goals and endeavors for college and their career. Each student was called to the podium to express their gratitude to the teacher who inspired them during their time in Copiague School District. 
The district congratulates the top 20 students (in order beginning with No. 20): Esdras Canales; Patric Gudel; Carol Rodriguez Rodriguez; Nolan Johnson; Gabrielle Diegue; Darlene Ferreira; Destiny Delacruz; Henry Molina; Isabella Galarza; Kiara Bennett; Argeny Tavarez; Erhumwunse Eghafona; Alfred Barredo; Nicole Hernandez; Jarrett David; Allison Reyes; Christopher Canenguez; Naryman Lounici; salutatorian Marvin Pineda Lobo; and valedictorian Melanie Garcia.